Showcase KRÜSS GmbH.

KRÜSS GmbH is a manufacturer of scientific measuring equipment and is the global market leader in the area of interface and surface chemistry. The product portfolio consists of 3 device lines: tensiometers, contact angle measuring devices and foam analysers.

KRÜSS devices are operated almost exclusively by specially developed software. From setting up the instruments and setting the measurement parameters to reading out the measurement data and data analysis, right to finally data export, all steps are carried out in the software.

The initial situation

For each device line, KRÜSS had its own software products that had been repeatedly extended and supplemented over the years but were partly based on obsolete software standards. Because of the diversity of the individual software products, cost and complexity of development were very high, there were rarely synergy effects between the individual development teams, knowledge transfer was scarcely possible. In addition each piece of software had a different appearance.

It was recognised that a further version upgrade of the existing software solutions would not be able to meet the requirements of future technologies, of the market and of their own development objectives.

The requirements

For KRÜSS GmbH it was clear that in future a standard software platform should be provided for all device lines. The new software should bring significantly more quality and productivity both for the user and the developer.

  • Scientific precision of data capturing
  • Great functionality (automatic measurements, etc.) but GLP conform
  • Stability and safety (data saving, undo of deletion, etc.)
  • Flexibility towards the future
  • Unity of GUIs between instrument groups (functional and optical similarity)
  • Applicable for both “first users” and “experts”
  • Straight forward usability (ergonometric)
  • Cleaned up workspace and beautiful design

The solution

The software platform KRÜSS ADVANCE was delivered for the first time after two years’ development time. The architecture is completely modular, which means that all device lines fall back on the same core software and, depending on application, only device-specific modules are supplemented or replaced. The software now offers a standard user interface and a standard operating concept over all device lines and measurement methods. Resonance with the customers is overwhelmingly positive, the well thought-out usability enables quicker working and more results in a shorter time.

With the newly published Version 1.4, KRÜSS ADVANCE has replaced almost all earlier software products. KRÜSS today proudly presents the result and the team is pleased with the extent of the positive resonance and the economic success. In spite of the high costs, the project has today almost paid off through the increase in turnover in the two-digit percentage area for the product lines with the new software.

Hamburg, 5th November 2015

Cornelius Weser, Managing Director KRÜSS GmbH

“The software is today an elementary component of every analysis device and it will play an even greater role in future. With the completely newly developed KRÜSS ADVANCE software we have created the basis to carry forward our success story and further consolidate our leading position in the market.“

Dr. Udo Ohlerich, Head of Sales KRÜSS GmbH

“Previously, for us in Sales, the software was a topic that we treated rather passively. With the introduction of the KRÜSS ADVANCE, this has turn round 180 degrees. This software is the face of our devices that we like to show; it enables very quick access and is impressive all along the line. With this we have a clear competitive advantage and an important reason to buy on our side.”

Torben Schörck, Head of Research & Development KRÜSS GmbH

“The KRÜSS ADVANCE platform allows us to stay permanently in the fast lane with our development work. The modular architecture of the software enables us to develop more quickly, more efficiently and more flexibly. Instead of isolated solutions for individual products, we now create features that are in principle usable across products. We no longer respond to the requirements of the market and the technological environment but we actively move forward.”

Martin Jungsbluth, Head of QA & Service KRÜSS GmbH

“Since the introduction of the KRÜSS ADVANCE we deal with individual, specific technical questions significantly more frequently in our customer service. There are not really queries on the general operation of the software now. Our customers work considerably more productively with the KRÜSS ADVANCE software, obtain results more quickly and now approach us with very specific questions to raise the quality of their work even further.”

KRÜSS ADVANCE

Showcase KRÜSS GmbH

Die KRÜSS GmbH ist Hersteller von wissenschaftlichen Messgeräten und Weltmarktführer im Bereich Grenz- und Oberflächenchemie. Das Produktportfolio besteht aus 3 Gerätelinien: Tensiometer, Kontaktwinkelmessgeräte und Schaummessgeräte.

Die Bedienung von KRÜSS-Geräten erfolgt fast ausschließlich durch speziell entwickelte Software. Von der Einrichtung der Instrumente und die Einstellung der Messparameter über das Auslesen der Messdaten und die Datenanalyse bis schließlich zum Datenexport werden sämtliche Schritte in der Software vorgenommen.

Die Ausgangslage

KRÜSS hatte für jede Gerätelinie eigene Softwareprodukte, die über viele Jahre immer wieder erweitert und ergänzt wurden aber teilweise auf veralteten Software-Standards basierten. Durch die Verschiedenheit der einzelnen Softwareprodukte waren Aufwand und Komplexität der Entwicklung sehr hoch, Synergieeffekte zwischen den einzelnen Entwicklungsteams ergaben sich nur selten, Wissenstransfer war kaum möglich. Jede Software hatte zudem ein anderes Erscheinungsbild. Man erkannte, dass eine weitere Versionspflege der bestehenden Software-Lösungen nicht die Anforderungen zukünftiger Technologien, des Marktes und der eigenen Entwicklungsziele wird erfüllen können.

Die Anforderungen

Für die KRÜSS GmbH stand fest, dass in Zukunft eine einheitliche Software-Plattform für alle Gerätelinien zur Verfügung stehen sollte. Sowohl für die Nutzer, als auch für die Entwickler sollte die neue Software signifikant mehr Qualität und Produktivität bringen.

  • Wissenschaftliche Präzision bei der Datenerfassung
  • Hervorragende Funktionalität verbunden mit GLP-Konformität
  • Stabilität und Sicherheit (Datensicherung, Widerrufen von Löschungen etc)
  • Flexibilität für zukünftige Entwicklungen
  • Einheitlichkeit der GUI über alle Gerätelinien hinweg (funktionelle und optische Ähnlichkeit)
  • Anwendbar von Erstbenutzern und Experten gleichermaßen
  • Einfache Bedienbarkeit (Ergonometrie)
  • Aufgeräumte Benutzeroberfläche und tolles Design

Die Lösung

Die Software Plattform KRÜSS ADVANCE wurde nach 2 Jahren Entwicklungszeit zum ersten Mal ausgeliefert. Die Architektur ist komplett modular, was bedeutet, dass alle Gerätelinien auf die gleiche Kern-Software zurückgreifen und je nach Anwendung lediglich gerätespezifische Module ergänzt oder ausgetauscht werden. Die Software bietet nun eine einheitliche Benutzeroberfläche und ein einheitliches Bedienkonzept über alle Gerätelinien und Messmethoden hinweg. Die Resonanz der Kunden ist überwältigend positiv, die durchdachte Usability ermöglicht schnelleres Arbeiten und mehr Ergebnisse in kürzerer Zeit.

Mit der gerade erschienenen Version 1.4 hat KRÜSS ADVANCE fast alle früheren Softwareprodukte abgelöst. Stolz präsentiert KRÜSS heute das Ergebnis und das Team freut sich über das Ausmaß der positiven Resonanz und den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Trotz der hohen Kosten hat sich das Projekt bereits heute nahezu amortisiert durch die Umsatzsteigerung im zweistelligen Prozentbereich für die Produktlinien mit der neuen Software.

Hamburg, 05.11.2015

Cornelius Weser, Managing Director KRÜSS GmbH

„Die Software ist heute ein elementarer Bestandteil jedes Analysegeräts und sie wird in Zukunft noch eine viel größere Rolle spielen. Wir haben mit der komplett neu entwickelten KRÜSS ADVANCE Software die Basis geschaffen, um unsere Erfolgsgeschichte fortzuschreiben und unsere Spitzenposition im Markt weiter zu festigen.“

Dr. Udo Ohlerich, Head of Sales KRÜSS GmbH

„Früher war die Software für uns im Vertrieb ein Thema, das wir eher passiv behandelt haben. Mit der Einführung der KRÜSS ADVANCE hat sich das um 180 Grad gedreht. Diese Software ist das Gesicht unserer Geräte, das wir gerne zeigen; sie ermöglicht einen extrem schnellen Einstieg und überzeugt auf ganzer Linie. Wir haben damit einen klaren Wettbewerbsvorteil und ein wichtiges Kaufargument auf unserer Seite.“

Torben Schörck, Head of Research & Development KRÜSS GmbH

„Die KRÜSS ADVANCE Plattform erlaubt uns, mit unserer Entwicklungsarbeit dauerhaft auf der Überholspur zu bleiben. Durch die modulare Architektur der Software können wir schneller, effizienter und flexibler entwickeln. Statt Insellösungen für einzelne Produkte schaffen wir jetzt Features, die grundsätzlich produktübergreifend nutzbar sind. Wir reagieren nicht mehr nur auf die Anforderungen des Marktes und des technologischen Umfelds sondern wir gehen aktiv voran.“

Martin Jungsbluth, Head of QA & Service KRÜSS GmbH

„Seit Einführung der KRÜSS ADVANCE bearbeiten wir im Service mit unseren Kunden deutlich häufiger fachspezifische, individuelle Fragen. Anfragen zur allgemeinen Bedienung der Software gibt es eigentlich gar nicht mehr. Unsere Kunden arbeiten mit der KRÜSS ADVANCE Software deutlich produktiver, kommen schneller zu Ergebnissen und wenden sich jetzt mit sehr spezifischen Fragen an uns, um die Qualität ihrer Arbeit noch weiter zu steigern.“

KRÜSS ADVANCE